It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• The Trifecta: Degenerative Disk Disease, Spinal Stenosis, and Herniated Disks

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 11-26-2013, 05:58 AM   #1
    John1310
    (male)

John1310 HB User
    The Trifecta: Degenerative Disk Disease, Spinal Stenosis, and Herniated Disks

Hi: I have been a longtime lurker on this site, but recent events have convinced me that it is time to actively seek out some input.

My goal is to explain my situation and my plan of action, and to hopefully garner insight from others in similar situations.

Approximately 10 years ago (22-24ish) I began having sporadic back pain. I was an undergrad at the time, so I'd go to my local student clinic, obtain a small amount of low dose Vicodin (typically 5mg) and rest for a few days. This pattern continued until approximately 4 years ago, at which time the pain became more frequent and more intense. After having a MRI that showed DDD, SS, and slightly bulged disks, I went to a surgeon.

The surgeon recommended that I try every possible method of conservative treatment before surgery, which I whole-heartedly agreed with. Over the subsequent 3.5 years I completed 4 rounds of physical therapy, began working with an acupuncturist, and began working with a reflexologist. I also purchased a TENS machine and an inversion table. Unfortunately, part of this method of treatment included the use of medications. I started with 5/500 Vicodin, which were taken only 1-2 times per day maybe 3 days a week. The frequency increased until they began to lose their efficacy, so the dose was increased to 7.5/750. I became concerned with the amount of acetaminophen I was taking, and the 7.5s were starting to lose effectiveness, so I was switched to Norco 10/325 in March of 2013.