It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board

• Depakote better than Lithium

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-03-2004, 07:17 AM   #1
    Jenndyer

Jenndyer HB User
    Lightbulb Depakote better than Lithium

I hope this helps
    I was finally put on my meds for the BP just a couple of weeks ago and after reading some of the posts on here I thought that this may be helpfull to some of those who are still on Lithium.......

Instead of Lithium, my doctor preferred Depakote. It is apparently the safest mood stabilizer out there. Especially compared to Lithium. It has less side effects and proves to be just as effective if not more than Lithium. So far, I have to say that I have noticed a huge change in myself in just these few weeks. I have been in a real good medium mood. I studied up on the medication before I took it. From what I have read it has been proven to be the better choice over Lithium. For those of you who are having problems and side effects with the Lithium, or feel that it is doing you no good anymore, this may be something to ask your doc about. Again, I hope this helps.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-03-2004, 11:19 AM   #2
    Curls22

Curls22 HB User
    Re: Depakote better than Lithium

Have you noticed any weight gain yet? thats why im afraid to try it out. In either case, thats good that you are doing well!!!

Old 02-03-2004, 12:49 PM   #3
    Polaris

Polaris HB User

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Curls22
    Have you noticed any weight gain yet? thats why im afraid to try it out. In either case, thats good that you are doing well!!!