It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bipolar Disorder Message Board

• My son just recently diagnosed Bi-Polar

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-22-2004, 11:18 AM   #1
    Sleepless_in_Ms

Sleepless_in_Ms HB User
    Unhappy My son just recently diagnosed Bi-Polar

Hi All,
    I am new to this message board ,but thank God I found it . My son is 14 now and has been misdiagnosed for 9 yrs now . I was told he had ADHD and has always been treated for it. He started haveing outbursts I took him to doctor after doctor . He's been on Ritilin(allergic) ,Adderall(caused him to have depression),Depakote(did nothing) ,Zoloft(made outbursts worse),.He's been to therapists,psycologists,now a Psychiatrist. I had him what they call Neurofeedback well he started self mutalating(cutting) the schools don't understand . I had a Quanative EEG done on him and found yes he is ADHD but with that has been diagnosed as haveing ADHD,ODD,CD,emoitionally disturbed, and now bipolar. The meds he has been on is unreal . As of now he is on Straterra, Seroquel,ansd Risadol. Next week when he goes back the doc wants him to start lamictil. I feel like I am on a roller coater with no way off. I had to take him out of school because his behavior isn't where they wanted it.He went to altetrnative schools and couldn't function there either (I believe it';s because these people just don't know how to handle kids with these problems.) I just last monday put him back in regular school and low and behold he was there 4 days and was already up for expulsuon.Get this because his teacher didn't follow his IEP plan and he had an outburts and was I'm told rude and obnoxious (violation of letter of assurance). I feel like it's his teachers fault (this time) and she got no punishment . Well they put him a self contained class that he seems to like however he just started this class yesterday. Today I went to a Social Worker begging for hel