It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Birth Control Message Board

Side Effects from Going Off The Pill...

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2007, 09:06 PM   #1
Sutton2007
(female)

Sutton2007 HB User
Thumbs down Side Effects from Going Off The Pill...

I am new to the health boards…and I guess I am not the only female struggling with side effects from going off the BC.
I have been on the pill for 15 years and got married, so of course, I went off the pill about a month ago. I think that I am experiencing every side effect there is possible to experience. I remember fifteen years ago, I went on the pill for reasons due to long and drawn out periods, also really bad cramps. Later on in my life I remained on it, because of relationships...
We are not trying to get pregnant, but I figured I would get off BC in order for my body to be ready. I am thinking of going back on it, because of the uncontrollable mood swings (crying and extremely emotional, irritable from one minute to the next), the acne (in places that I never had acne before, it sucks, and they are itchy), cramps, longer period (I had one right after I got off my BC), trouble sleeping (insomnia), and still experiencing migraines through out the month. I am not sure if other women have experienced it, but pain in the ovaries area during intercourse. This is a new one for me.
Being on the pill and going off it, has not affected my libido at all. Well I guess I have one positive outcome.
I can put up with some of these symptoms, but the acne is really uncomfortable and seems to be getting worse. I have not seen my doctor about any of these side effects that I am experiencing. I did not consult with my family doctor about abruptly stopping the BC. Life is really easier being on the pill…..but I do not want to rely on BC anymore!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-28-2007, 09:39 PM   #2
Kszan
Senior Veteran