It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board

I've been having a constipation problem for years, and nothing is working anymore!!!!

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2004, 03:04 PM   #1
Jess75
Senior Veteran
(female)

Jess75 HB UserJess75 HB User
Thumbs down I've been having a constipation problem for years, and nothing is working anymore!!!!

Hi, I'm new to the Bowl disorder boards by the way.
I think I need to see my doctor about this cause it's so frustrating. Anyways, I always seemed to have a problem with bowl regularity, for as long as I can remember. I'm 28 years old, eat 4-5 servings of fruits and veggies a day, added flaxseeds, eat beansoup all the time, oatmeal, and I'M STILL HAVING PROBLEMS!!! My granfather had this problem too, and my mother currently has it, which leads me to believe that this may be genetic. Anyways, metamucil does CRAP, this herb I bought called Triphala worked at first but now it doesn't. I drink water all day, cut out soday and I'm still having problems. My diet is very high in fiber so I'd like to know if there is somebody who can shed some light and maybe recommend a good product that won't kill my stomach and have me going to the bathroom all night. THanks!

Last edited by Jess75; 12-15-2004 at 03:33 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-15-2004, 10:45 PM   #2
quincy
Senior Veteran
(female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
Re: I've been having a constipation problem for years, and nothing is working anymore!!!!

Can you drink coffee or have milk?

Coffee increases peristalsis. That could help.

Another possibility is to switch from Metamucil to Citrucel. Start slowly and maybe that's the right product for you.