It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board

• Types of Fiber Supplements

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-26-2005, 05:17 AM   #1
    mikesgirl
    (female)

mikesgirl HB User
    Types of Fiber Supplements

If you take a fiber supplement, is one kind better than another? (psyllium, methylcellulose, etc.)

What should you look for in a supplement?

Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-26-2005, 05:38 PM   #2
    threethings
    (female)

threethings HB User
    Re: Types of Fiber Supplements

i'm not an expert but i've taken different fiber supplements over the years. i think you need to try different ones to see which ones work for you. some people develop gas from one kind, but not from another. i myself eat the chewable fiber tablets at the moment. they taste really good and they work well.

Old 12-26-2005, 10:02 PM   #3
    HRH
    (male)

HRH HB User

I think the water soluble fiber psyllium sold by Wal Mart as Equate is good, cost less than Metamucil and works the same since both are psyllium. It come in capsules, powder and wafers (cookies). You need to follow direction and drink the amount of water the directions say.

A natrual fiber like psyllium does produce gas but it does go away with continued use.

Citrucel is not a natrual fiber so it does not produce gas but it cost more-- about twice as much but it works OK but not anybetter.
    Both are safe to take daily.
    I have not tried Benefiber so I don't know about it.

Old 12-27-2005, 10:46 PM   #4
    Perry2
    (male)

Perry2 HB User

Interesting recent info on psyllium and colon cancer. I don't think the results are exclusive to psyllium, just that one of the things we thought fiber was doing for us was really not happening.

A quote taken off another board:

Fiber May Hurt, More Than Help, in Preventing Colon Cancer

Still Many Reasons to Eat Fruits, Vegetables, and Grains, Though

By Elaine Zablocki