It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Bowel Disorders Message Board

• bowel descent and ulcers

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-12-2012, 12:30 PM   #1
    carly33
    (female)

carly33 HB User
    bowel descent and ulcers

I have recently been diagnosed with rectal descent and ulcers in my bowel after a examination under anaesthetic. I am in a lot of pain and taking 100 mg of tramadol every few hours. unfortuantly the pain is very bad and found that tramadol does not help my pain anymore. Recently been on 60mg of codeine every 4 hours which has made me very constipated despite using enemas. For years doctors diagnosed me with ibs but when i started to get rectal bleeding and fissures i was examined further. Does anyone have any advice? the consultant said it can be repaired with surgery but whilst waiting for next appointment i am in severe pain and unable to lift anything at work as i am a nurse.

The following user gives a hug of support to carly33:
    flipfleury (08-14-2012)
    Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-13-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
    quincy
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
    Re: bowel descent and ulcers

Hi...just to clarify..are you meaning you have rectal prolapse and ulcers in the rectum?

Or are you meaning you have ulcerations and bleeding but in your descending colon?

I suggest you get a copy of the results from the scope.

Did the doctor take biopsies?

My concern would be the term "ulcers"....and the cause, etc...because inflammatory bowel disease such as Ulcerative Colitis or Crohn's can cause ulcerations in the rectum/colon. And rectal inflammation can cause constipation.

So, I'm not clear on exactly what you have...

What enemas are you using?

q

Old 08-13-2012, 08:54 AM   #3
    quincy
    Senior Veteran
    (female)