It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Brain Tumors Message Board

• Elevated Platelets Related to Brain Tumor??

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-26-2006, 05:39 AM   #1
    rene24
    (female)

rene24 HB User
    Elevated Platelets Related to Brain Tumor??

Hello All, I am a newbie on these boards and I am hoping to find someone out there that can possibly relate to my problem. Two years ago I started suffering from headaches every day after taking a fall out in the yard. ( I have always had headaches growing up, but not everyday) My doctor ordered a MRI and bloodwork, and it came back saying I had a small brain tumor and that my platelet level was elevated. I found a great hematologist, and he has put me thru every test known to man. Every test has come back good, and he keeps referring to the tumor in my head as possible causing me my secondary thombrocytosis. Last week I suffered from a headache for 8 straight days, and was popping advil like candy. THis was prior to my visit with my hematologist where my platelet count had went over 1 million. I nearly fell off the table. They have always fluctuated between 6 and 850. He sent me for another MRI which I have not gotten the results back yet. I have them every 6 months to keep an eye on the growth of the tumor, but my six month MRI was not due until April. The tumor is benign (thank God), but would have to be removed if it gets bigger. My hemotologist keeps referring to an infection in my body, posssible coming from the tumor. Does anyone out there have any problem like this with having some kind of tumor in there body, and there platelet level being high?? How about the advil? Is it possible that they could of increased my level?? I go back next week for results and have not taken any advil or ibuprofin since then. Anybody out there in the same boat? Would appreciate any help!!!! Rene24

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-26-2006, 05:55 AM   #2