It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Bone Message Board

• My mom has all the s/s of Multiple Myeloma

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-03-2012, 10:53 PM   #1
    missheavyweight
    (female)

missheavyweight HB User
    My mom has all the s/s of Multiple Myeloma

Hello, my name is Ashley. I am relatively new to this board but have had a lot on my mind lately and I really feel as though I need to sort it out somehow.

I am currently studying Nursing and am in my 2nd year. I love it! I love learning about the human body and I love helping others. However, d/t my mom being pretty much on her death bed and my ulcerative colitis flaring up d/t the stress of my moms "undiagnosed" condition, I have decided to take one semester off because I am afraid that she wont be here much longer. I ended up missing out on 2 final exams because she has been in and out of the hospital (she discharges herself) and I cannot go to school (2 hrs away) when I know that my mom could be dying. So this semester was not good and will be returning in the fall so now I can dedicate some time to my moms health issues.

Since early March my mom has pretty much gone from being relatively healthy to bedridden. A few years back my mom was diagnosed with Emphysema(she is a chronic smoker), Hypertension, Hypercalcemia and Acute renal failure. They never really determined the cause of any of these but I think that the hypercalcemia has something to do with her decline in renal function.