It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Breast Message Board

• Breast Cancer or Benign Scare?????

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-11-2014, 10:04 PM   #1
    Tara Rain
    (female)

Tara Rain HB User
    Question Breast Cancer or Benign Scare?????

This is my first time posting and I'm probably worried for nothing but I would like some reassurance if I am not alone. I have a couple questions if anyone can answer any of them it would help! thank you!!!!

#1. I am a 38 year old woman with a small family history of breast and ovarian cancer. I also have Heterogeneously dense breasts. I had a small fibradenoma last year that was categorized as Bi-rads 3. we did nothing but watched. I had another mamo and U/S last week that showed it has gotten smaller and is no longer a threat. There was, however a new, hypoechoic, noncystic, well defined nodule 1cm from the last one that they categorized as bi-rads 4. Review of the prior images suggested a possible nodule in this location. I assume they think this is also a fibradenoma but they suggested a biopsy.
    I went for an ultrasound guided breast biopsy today. The nurse did a ultrasound on my breast before the biopsy and then my armpit. She took lots of pics of my armpit. The Dr said that she wanted to do a biopsy as well on what she said was an "enlarged axillary lymph node." After the biopsies, the Dr says that she doesn't believe either are anything serious to worry about but if so... then why do the extra biopsy? Anyone have a possible fibroadenoma turn out to be cancer??

#2. are all oval, well defined masses benign? Can fibroadenomas grow in the lymph nodes?
    any answers are APPRECIATED!!!
    thank you Tara Rain

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-13-2014, 04:22 PM   #2
    ladyabby
    (female)

ladyabby HB Userladyabby HB User
    Re: Breast Cancer or Benign Scare?????

Hi Tara,