It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board

• Pre-Cancerous cell growth-Help I'm scared!!!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-14-2005, 03:54 PM   #1
    skewlgirl2002
    (female)

skewlgirl2002 HB User
    Pre-Cancerous cell growth-Help I'm scared!!!

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to this, but I have posted here before. I recently did the colposcopy and received my results as precancerous cell growth in stage 2 which is moderate. I had my colpo done at a "free" clinic since I have no health insurance and cannot afford anything better. After I received my results, I was crushed. I am only 24 years old and have not had children yet. My doctor put it to me this way "I hate to rain on your parade, but...." I love how they tell you bad news. Well anyway, since I had to take the "free" clinic route and cannot afford out of pocket expenses, I am now waiting for a piece of paper to come to me in the mail to tell me where and what hospital I am being transferred to, to do the LEEP procedure. After I left the clinic I called back and got my doctors nurse and she told me it could take up to 2 months to receive this letter and get the procedure!!!!!! I am freaking out here, if my cells go into stage 3, "severe" it will turn into cancer and then what, a hysterectomy??? At 24??? I am so scared. I just want to get it done and get it over with. On top of all this, I just started a new job and do not want to be seen as a liability on the company. My health benefits donít kick in until December and even after that if i need coverage, I will have to start all over again pretending I did not know anything about it to be covered. Companies will not cover pre-existing circumstances. It really sucks waking up everyday and thinking about cancer. I'm embarrassed and scared to talk to family about it and when I do they do not know what to say. I am 1500 miles away from all my best f