It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board

• New To Boards: Scared about HGSIL

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-07-2007, 10:22 AM   #1
    MyNameHere07
    (female)

MyNameHere07 HB User
    Question New To Boards: Scared about HGSIL

Hi, this is my first time posting on these boards. I have a question, that I guess I'm better off asking my doctor.

I recently was informed that my Pap smear came back abnormal. The test result says HGSIL, moderate dysplasia. My doctor recomended I go see a GYN right away for further testing. Here's my dilema. I have no health insurance but will very soon. I'm getting married and my fiance will be able to put me on his health insurance once we're married. The wedding is in less than 2 months.

Is this something I need to get on right away or can I wait until after the wedding so that insurance can help with the doctor visits? I don't have much money right now... but I also don't want to take chances with my health. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-07-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
    becks77
    (female)

becks77 HB User
    Re: New To Boards: Scared about HGSIL

when i had my first abnormal pap test, the test was done in september 06, it took two montsh fro my results (8 weeks), and then a further 6 week sfor my appointment (so 14 weeks in total)......my biopsy then came back as mild, hwoever i was put on six monthly review, to see if it went away of its own accord.

my next coposcopy and pap was scheduled for may, sadly i wasnt as lucky this tiem and it came back severe dysplasia, and HGSIL, i then had a leep scheduled which ws end of june,a nd that came back moderate dysplasia, HGSIL.

basically teh pap tests are only an indication of what might be wrong, and so it coudl eb that you actually have mild dysplasia, as oppose to moderate.