It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board

• Pregnancy after LEEP AND Cone?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-09-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
    Exemptgirl
    (female)

Exemptgirl HB User
    Pregnancy after LEEP AND Cone?

First of all, I'm a newbie but this forum has been super helpful to me.

I had a LEEP in March as my ob/gyn could not rule out adenocarcinoma in situ (also I had moderate dysplasia). It turns out I did have AIS on the bottom of my cervix and also in the canal.

After the LEEP, she originally said that all was clear until she showed my pathology report to the oncologist who recommended a cone 6 weeks after my LEEP. I just had the cone last Friday and all they found was CIN I so I'm in the clear for now!

I'm wondering if anyone has had BOTH a LEEP AND a cone biopsy and had any issues getting pregnant and how long they waited after their procedure to get pregnant. I'm 26 and getting married in a few months and want a baby fairly quickly. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-09-2009, 04:00 PM   #2
    Elizabeth1975
    (female)

Elizabeth1975 HB User
    Re: Pregnancy after LEEP AND Cone?

Exemptgirl,

I'm not at the point yet of trying to get pregnant after AIS, but the general consensus I've gotten from doctors is that you should wait until you've had 12-18 months of clear followups after AIS before conceiving. I'm sure this is to try to insure that a recurrence might not happen during pregnancy.

I'm curious -- did you ask your doctors about if they will test for AIS during pregnancy? What did they say?

Old 05-09-2009, 05:57 PM   #3
    LilyL21
    Veteran
    (female)

LilyL21 HB UserLilyL21 HB UserLilyL21 HB User

Hey Exemptgirl,