It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Cervical & Ovarian Message Board

• Newby to the board: Need some advice

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-18-2009, 05:24 PM   #1
    rebtk1
    (female)

rebtk1 HB User
    Newby to the board: Need some advice

Hi there - Just recently found this board...it is incredible how much information is here & how much support is provided - Wow!
    I have a question - perhaps it is a common situation & I am still learning about it.

I had a pap come back in January with ASCUS - HPV+ (& one of the strains likely for cervical cancer). Scheduled and did the Colpo - doctor found many white areas - talked with me about LEEP and likely next steps...I expected unpleasant results...and yet...biopsy came back with NOTHING.

Doc said we should repeat the pap again in 3 months.
    Did that 1 1/2 weeks ago...this time pap came back with Glandular unspecific (Not sure if I am using the right term) & same HPV + as before.
    I got the impression Doc thought this was a little unusual to have first one and then the other. She said she wanted to see me right away...I'm now scheduled again for another colpo for this Friday where they will do the biopsy up through the cervix and into the lining of the uterus as well.
    I've been noticing some pressure and dull pain in my lower abdomin lately...not sure if it is really real or if I am just really nervous and hyper sensitive about every twinge.
    Other history: I'm 40 this year...I've gotten regular paps - I've had three other abnormal paps in the past...but the last one was more than 12 years ago. Each time, showed normal the next time around.

If anyone has any thoughts or advice, I would really, really appreciate it!
    Thanks

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2009, 06:00 PM   #2
    Pickle Eyes
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Pickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB UserPickle Eyes HB User