It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Colon Message Board

• Change in Stool

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-06-2005, 07:18 PM   #1
    volunteer
    (female)

volunteer HB User
    Change in Stool

Hello to all. This is my first time to post and I would appreciate any feedback. I experienced a major change in bowel habits beginning in August of 2004. I tried drinking more water, exercising and adding fiber with no improvements. I finally broke down to go see my Dr in December. FOBT was clean. He recommended Benefiber which has done nothing. My question to you alll is whether I should be concerned about change in stool. For the last month I have only been producing little round balls about the size of grapes.

Most everything I read indicates that pencil thin stools are of concern. What about little round balls?

I am 45 and this is my first serious bout with constipation.

Last edited by volunteer; 01-06-2005 at 07:18 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-06-2005, 08:33 PM   #2
    HyperMan125

HyperMan125 HB User
    Re: Change in Stool

are you sure that when you added fiber you were getting 25 g a day?

Old 01-07-2005, 03:31 AM   #3
    volunteer
    (female)

volunteer HB User

I believe I am close to that and may even exceed that level. For breakfast I have been having Kellogg's All Bran which has 10 grams of dietary fiber. With that I have two tablespoons of flaxseeds which provides another 3 grams. I have been drinking prune juice which adds another 3 grams. I eat a lot of fresh vegetables and try to have fruit daily. I also try to have a serving of beans or peas each day. On top of that, I have been using the Benefiber twice a day. Four tablespoons daily of the Benefiber is another 12 grams of fiber, so I think I am there.