It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Prostate Message Board

• PSA ticked up from undetectable

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 06-08-2022, 06:29 PM   #1
    boort
    (male)

boort HB User
    PSA ticked up from undetectable

I had RP in 2013. PSA hovered about went to .7.

I had radiation in 2019 and PSA went undetectable until today where I got 0.011

What is the best/worst interpretation of this result?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-08-2022, 08:21 PM   #2
    HighlanderCFH
    (male)

HighlanderCFH has disabled reputation
    Re: PSA ticked up from undetectable

Hi, I'm not good with math, but I believe this new number is still undetectable as far as the standard (non-ultra sensitive) PSA test goes.

So I would not be worried at all.

The Following User Says Thank You to HighlanderCFH For This Useful Post:
    boort (06-10-2022)
    Old 06-09-2022, 10:24 AM   #3
    IADT3since2000
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

IADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB UserIADT3since2000 HB User

Hi boort and welcome to the Board!

The bottom line is that I agre with Highlander CFH.

The worst interpretation is that the cancer you once had is recurring and causing an increase in PSA. That said, recurrences vary widely in threat level - some so mild that no treatment is needed, just continued monitoring, while at the other extreme some are life-threatening. Both the time from your surgery to your radiation and the time from your radiation until that detectable PSA are fairly long, suggesting that a recurrence would be toward the mild end of the spectrum, if indeed there is a recurrence at all.