It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Prostate Message Board

• Multiparameter MRI Diagnosis Facility Help

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-21-2013, 10:03 AM   #1
    hcr
    (male)

hcr HB User
    Multiparameter MRI Diagnosis Facility Help

Looking for guidance. We live out of Country and my husband has a rising PSA now at 10.2 - I have been advised to get a multiparametric MRI of the prostate and avoid blind biopsies. I am new to this but gather the most important step is the first one. What guidance on costs and recommendations for Urologists? Florida would be easiest but I open to suggestions and can go to California etc

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-21-2013, 10:43 AM   #2
    Tall Allen
    Inactive
    (male)

Tall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB UserTall Allen HB User
    Re: Multiparameter MRI Diagnosis Facility Help

mpMRIs are usually reserved for second biopsies when the first biopsy was negative but something still seems to be going on. A standard 12-core TRUS-guided biopsy usually is a better first step and may be enough. It's important to eliminate other sources of rising PSA like BPH and prostatitis first. I don't know if PHI is available in Costa Rica as it is in Europe. If so, that is a very useful blood test. If not, % free PSA may be useful.

I recommend a "periprostatic nerve block" before the biopsy - no pain, no anesthesia "fog." I also recommend that you have the biopsy slides sent to Bostwick or Johns Hopkins or other prostate specialty lab for a second opinion.