It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Skin Message Board

• activities after being diagnosed with melanoma ???

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-28-2008, 10:58 AM   #1
    nicky326
    (female)

nicky326 HB User
    activities after being diagnosed with melanoma ???

Hi

I'm new at this and new to having been diagnosed with a lentigo(?) melanoma on my left upper arm after going to a pigmented skin cancer clinic for 22 years. During all that time, everything went well except having a few suspicious moles taken off and a few basal and squamous cancers taken care of on a body that has many dysplastic nevi, mostly on my back. Monday I had the melanoma worked on by a plastic surgeon to make larger margins to make sure the in situ melanoma was not larger. At that time also, 2 other spots were removed (leg and other arm).What I think is surprising is all of these were really small and I always put at least 30 sometimes 50 SPF on. No word yet on the biopsies. I was told I have 5 risk factors.

I would very much want to know from those of you who have had melanoma years ago, how you go about your life ,since this has rocked my world. I play(played?) golf and tennis and want to know about any of you out there how you deal with outdoor activities. Am I destined to cover up with the 60+ uv clothing ,play before 10 a.m. and after 4 p.m., and hang outside only on rainy days?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-28-2008, 01:16 PM   #2
    LuckyladyNZ
    (female)

LuckyladyNZ HB User
    Re: activities after being diagnosed with melanoma ???

Hi,
    I posted my fears of paranoia yesterday and I too am wondering how to be "outside" in the future. I am 40 next year and live in a country that is very outdoors. I hope you get some good advice and i shall be following your responses as hopefully it will help me too.

Old 09-02-2008, 12:22 PM   #3
    Dallas08
    (male)

Dallas08 HB User