It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Uterine Message Board

• Senior, post menopausal bleeding

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-14-2005, 08:53 AM   #1
    Marise5
    (female)

Marise5 HB User
    Senior, post menopausal bleeding

Hi. I am a newbie here and just turned 70. My health is generally good, except for some high blood pressure for which I have taken three medications for some years. I have had bleeding now for about 3 weeks (it is 20 years plus since menopause!) I should get the results of a pap next week and am going for a pelvic ultrasound on the 29th.
    The research shows that only about 28% of pm bleeding turns out to be cancer, and someone mentioned that medications can be a cause of this bleeding.
    What kinds of medication? and what other causes are there?
    Would appreciate any information you can give me.
    Thanks, Marise

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-30-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
    welshterriermom
    (female)

welshterriermom HB User
    Re: Senior, post menopausal bleeding

I am sorry you are going throught this and glad you've consulted your doctor, as all post-menopausal bleeding requires investigation.
    A shift in hormones can cause post menopausal bleeding. HRT (Hormone replacement therapy) could cause this, as can other medicines that might affect a woman's hormones. (My 74 yo mom had a new onset of hotflashes when she started her osteoporosis medication.) Our fat cells can also produce estrogens, so some women can have PMB related to weight, or a change in weight. Sometimes those women might have a Progestin Rx'd to keep the estrogen in balance and help keep the uterine lining healthy.