It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer: Uterine Message Board

• mri w/contrast

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-15-2008, 01:47 PM   #1
    arizo01
    (female)

arizo01 HB User
    Exclamation mri w/contrast

Hi there, I'm new to this thread, I was wondering do you hear of the need to have an MRI with contrast to see your uterus for possible adenomyosis?
    I had an transabdominal and transvaginal pelvic ultrasound and the final report says as follows:

Multiple tiny myometrical cyst in the lower uterine segment with possibly decreased echogenicity of the myometrium posteriorly. These findings suggests adenomyosis. The diagnosis is difficult to confirm with ultrasound. Consider MRI of the pelvis to rule out this diagnosis, if clinically indicated.

I had the mri yesterday and was told that I need to have another one with contrast. I almost get it done but the insurance didn't sent the authorization yet when I was there at the facility. I got home and research the internet and found some concerning news about the contrast agent Gadolinium that is used to inject your veins in order to have the test done. They say these contrast agents have been linked to acute renal failure, people with compromised kidneys shouldn't have it, not my case but they also say that you can have liver problems and even fatal allergies reactions.
    After reading all this I told my doctor that I won't have this test done. I have a follow-up apptmt next tuesday and I'm afraid my doctor is going to try to convince me to have it and I don't want to. Before, when she have my ultrasound test results she said that it didn't show anything that worry her at all but to have the mri done because the radiologist suggest it. My feeling is that she wouldn't have sent me the test if not for the radiologist suggestion.