It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cancer Message Board

Deepest Darkest thoughts when I was a cancer patient

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2006, 02:14 PM   #1
Brucey12
(female)

Brucey12 HB User
Deepest Darkest thoughts when I was a cancer patient

This is my first time at Healthboards. I was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer when I was 24!!!! I have recently reached the 5 year point of being all clear

I had no symptoms at all. I was in the Army and within 2 weeks I was unable to complete the fitness tests. I was sent to the military doctors several times. The military doctors put it down to me being lazy and not wanting to do the physical side of military life. I was labelled as the biff who faked a stitch on any type of run!!!!!
6 months later I was seen by a civilian doctor with the same symptoms and he sent me off for a ultrasound. They told me I had a cycst in my pancreas and they would do scan every 6 months or so to keep an eye on it.

Well, a year went on and my symptoms where still the same. I moved location and registered at a new doctors who refered me to a consultant at Frimley Park Hospital. Within 3 weeks I had a CT scan, blood tests upon blood tests and then they stuck a tube down the throat to try and get more info from my pancreas (i can't remember the name of this procedure).
They got no new information. My bloods where fines.

I was told the implications if it was a tumour and was asked to make a choice if I wanted the Whipple procedure or to risk it and hope it was a cycst!!!!! I was given a week to make a decision.

I opted for the procedure and all went well. I still have a working spleen and I am not a diabetic. I still think about it everyday. The possibilty that I might have it now and not know till it is to late!