It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome Message Board

• Please Help!!! I don't know what I should do with my wrist

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-07-2004, 08:58 AM   #1
    krendlmagic

krendlmagic HB User
    Please Help!!! I don't know what I should do with my wrist

I have just started researching CTS, and am not sure quite what to do. It seems that everyone online is selling the "magic remedy" to heal it, but I know better and would like to get some advice from real people first.

I am in a weird situation. You see I am a full-time professional magician. The last 3 to 4 years I have do an average of 400 shows a year! In the process of doing shows I will twist balloon sculptures at lot of those shows. I know I am doing a lot of hyperextension of my right wrist when I twist the balloons and am positive that is what has caused my CTS. The problem is I really can't stop this activity, because it is my life. I am 24 years old and just this past couple of weeks I wrists are bad. I have the numbness and tingling sensation mainly in my thumb and pinky.

I have been taking IB prophien for about a week now and I have been wearing a wrist splint at night and a wrist brace during the day (the ace bandage kind).

I don't know what to do at this point. I have health insurance and if I have to go to a doctor then I will, but I am curious to know what I can do without a doctor. I hate going to a doctor for him/her to tell me something so simple, that I could of found out about it on my own. But instead I waited the whole day in a doctor's office and paid a whole bunch of money to pay for all the test they give you.

What things should I be doing to better my wrist? You see I believe in doing what I can first and then if it doesn't work then I see a doctor.