It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Children - Special Needs Message Board

Help please

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2015, 11:41 AM   #1
Teacher35
(female)

Teacher35 HB User
Help please

I am a special Ed/regular Ed teacher. I have a 1/3 class of deaf/hoh students and 2/3 typical students. They are 4 and 5 yrs old. Their last year was full of upheaval when the deaf Ed teacher died and they had subs with no training from dec. to the end of the year. This yr. they have a gen Ed teacher, teacher of the deaf, and an interpreter. The interpreter understands development. The teacher of the deaf insists we must change interpreters every grading period. Parent feels they need the consistency of the same people as their world was so rocked last year. What is the right thing in this case? Thanks so much!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2015, 01:34 PM   #2
kanded
(female)

kanded HB Userkanded HB Userkanded HB Userkanded HB Userkanded HB Userkanded HB Userkanded HB User
Re: Help please

Does the teacher of the deaf also do sign language to the deaf students in class? Or is the teacher a regular teacher? I'm not sure I understand what you mean. I have worked as a deaf interpreter in the classroom before in years past. I am also the parent of a special needs child. Trying to decide what is best for all, why would the deaf teacher want to change interpreters?
I have worked as in interpreter for over 20 years, and usually from the interpreters point of view, once you know the student and how they sign, its much easier to communicate with them, since each student has their mannerisms and way of talking. This brings comfort to the student that they know someone understands them completely, as opposed to bringing someone new in every month who may misunderstand them due to various factors.