It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Costochondritis Message Board

• Costochondritis or Cholecystitis

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-26-2014, 03:03 AM   #1
    EMsin
    (female)

EMsin HB User
    Unhappy Costochondritis or Cholecystitis

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the forum

I am concerned about a pain that Iíve been having for about 12 days now. It started after I was getting over my second flu in a period of less than a month. I did have a cough, and one morning, as I was coughing, I felt that the right side of my ribcage was getting increasingly sore. It only got worse - pain on my right ribs (a little under my bra-strap) that gets worse with movement etc, and of course, sneezing or coughing is hell. I went to see a doctor on the second day of my pain, he feared it might be gallbladder related: he said it could be gallstones or cholecystitis (note that Iím 24 years old), and so he sent me to the emergency room. I did have a slight fever (37.5, probably since I still had a cold), but I also got a blood test and urine sample at the ER, both of which were normal. The physician at the ER told me it is not my gallbladder, since that would be a different kind of pain, and since the blood work was normal. He also took a chest xray, and said it was normal. As for my pain, he said it seemed to be my costal bone, and it would probably get better on its own.