It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Cystic Fibrosis Message Board

• Just found out the guy Ive been dating has cystic fibrosis... he wont talk about it..

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-25-2009, 09:38 PM   #1
    bmc1086
    (female)

bmc1086 HB User
    Unhappy Just found out the guy Ive been dating has cystic fibrosis... he wont talk about it..

My boyfriends mom recently informed me that he was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis in 8th grade. He is now 22, my age. He refuses to talk about it and Im pretty sure he doesnt take his meds. He has a terrible cough (just got over swine flu) and Ive noticed his fingers and toes are clubbed. He is also pretty skinny. But otherwise seems to funtion normally as far as appetite and energy level. Does this mean he probably has severe or mild case? Ive read alot about the disease recently but most of the information is about children and i work in healthcare and have delt with a few cf patients but they were all very very severe cases. I would just like to know anything anyone can tell me about cf diagnosed in adolescents and if anyone has any idea what i can do to tenderly help him deal with this. Any advise or shared wisdom would be greatly apprehiated. Thank you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-26-2009, 12:32 AM   #2
    aimski
    (female)

aimski HB User
    Re: Just found out the guy Ive been dating has cystic fibrosis... he wont talk about

oh dear, I am so sorry to read this...I work with people who have cf, so I know a little about it....I don't know if you know but, it is not common for people with Cf to live beyond there 30's early 40's....they can go well for a while but even those on meds and have regular hospital visits start to go down hill at some point.
    If you want to be with him, just be there for him, encourage him to talk to you and share how he is feeling- i'm sure he would appreciate your love and support
    I wish you well