It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Death & Dying Message Board

• 57 yr. old daughter living w/ mother after dad dies suddenly.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-04-2006, 10:09 PM   #1
    Scully5050
    (female)

Scully5050 HB User
    57 yr. old daughter living w/ mother after dad dies suddenly.

I am a newbie to the board. I am in need of advise and help. My father died suddenly February 10th of this year, a massive heart attach no warning. The doctors said he never knew what hit him. This was great for my father, because he could never have handled a long term illness. It was devastating to the family. Since I am alone I moved in immediately with my mother.

They had been married 60 years and my father was 80 and my mother is 79. She is in pretty good health. How do I handle this? I have not had time to grieve and my mother seems to not want to live anymore. If I look like I am having a bad day, she gets worse. So I plaster a smile on my face all the time. I feel as if I am coming apart at the seams. I love my mother with all my heart and I don't mean to sound hard. I can't even imagine what it would be like to lose the one you loved for so many years. I know how I feel, but he was my father and not the man I loved and spent my life with. But, I am expected to lose my life and be here 24/7 for the rest of it. I don't know how to cop and I'm afraid this winter will be something I will not be able to handle.

I don't know how to help her and help myself. I am thinking about getting professional help for myself, but I don't think she will agree to do so. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I hope I have done this right, it being my first time and all, but I needed somewhere to turn.

Last edited by Scully5050; 08-04-2006 at 10:13 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-05-2006, 02:16 AM   #2
    catlady7160
    (female)

catlady7160 HB User