It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• terribly depressed, don't know what to do anymore

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-14-2003, 11:24 PM   #1
    jandee

jandee HB User
    terribly depressed, don't know what to do anymore

i'm a college student and i've been horribly depressed for 3 years now. for a while i kept on thinking things would get better, but they've only gotten worse. i don't know what to do anymore.

i don't know how to handle all these intense emotions... anger, sadness, depression... i used to cut myself and it helped a lot but i stopped b/c i hated the scars. i have to wear long sleeves for the rest of my life now. when i cut myself, i was hoping someone would discover it b/c i felt like no one cared. it was a cry for help and attention but in the end, no one cared.

i want some prescription medication to treat my depression but i'm afraid that if i go to the campus's health center and tell them, my parents would find out and i don't want them to. also our healt service sucks. i doubt they would prescribe me any anti depressents. the wait to see a psychiatrist is weeks long and whenever i make an appointment, and when it comes around to going, i don't want to go anymore. i think the any way i would go is if someone would make me go or if i go at the instant that i feel like going (but i have to wait). but no one cares enough about me to make sure i go to see counseling.

sorry this is getting long, i don't know if any of you want to read this, but i have no one else to tell and i really need to get this off my chest.

i can't see an outside doctor b/c its too expensive, and i have no money. my credit card is maxed out and i have a negative bank account balance.

now whenever i'm sad i just take a sleeping pill and go to sleep, which is pretty often.