It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• Was prescribed Wellbutrin by my psych, what should i expect, side effects, etc

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-21-2004, 12:44 PM   #1
    orange

orange HB User
    Question Was prescribed Wellbutrin by my psych, what should i expect, side effects, etc

I was recently prescribed Wellbutrin by my psychiatrist even though he said my depression isn't too bad. Mine is more of a situational depression and i tend to get really depressed if bad stuff happens and sometimes when i'm lonely i would get depress (again situational). Don't get me wrong, I have always noticed i get depressed for no reason a lot of times through my life, even as a kid. To make a long story short, I was prescribed Wellbutrin for my situation since he said i'm a college student and am really afraid of doing bad in school since i brought up concerns of having trouble concentrating or not doing as well as i could be due to concentration. He said this will help my depression and also help me concentrate. I asked if there were other meds i could take like prozac, etc but he said since i have trouble concentrating the Wellbutrin is more of a double effect, it'll help my depression and concentration. I'm kind of afraid of hte anxiety issue with Wellbutrin since i hear lots of complaints about increased anxiety, which is kinda of a double whammy since i have depression and already suffer some anxiety and concentration problems. What should i expect when taking this, the side efffects mainly? Also I believe i was prescribed the weakest dosage, 100mg (not sure), how bad would it be if i decide to stop taking it, will i suffer from any rebound effects?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-21-2004, 08:08 PM   #2
    2Beach

2Beach HB User
    Re: Was prescribed Wellbutrin by my psych, what should i expect, side effects, etc