It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• Another question about Lexapro

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-06-2004, 06:36 PM   #1
    Falynsmommy
    Veteran

Falynsmommy HB User
    Another question about Lexapro

Hey all. I'm brand new to the depression board but I've been battling postpartum depression for about 5 months now. I've been trying to do it with no meds but my depression/anxiety/anger keeps getting worse and worse. I finally broke down and called the doctor yesterday and she prescribed Lexapro. I will start taking it tonight before bed.

I've been reading through all the posts about Lexapro and reading up on all the side effects, from hives to increased perspiration to loss of libido. I'm very concerned now. I already have no libido from all the hormonal changes of having a baby 5 months ago, not to mention all the stress I'm dealing with right now. I sincerely hope this is not a side effect I experience on this.

My questions are...I am taking Total Lean, which is the GNC brand diet pill. Will it hurt to keep taking it with the Lexapro? Anyone have any experience with this? Also, what about drinking? My husband and I very, very, very, and I stress very rarely go out, but when we do we usually have a few drinks. Will there be a problem with that and the Lexapro?

I thought I'd ask you all about this stuff before calling the doctor. I have one more question though. Do any of you experience anger as one of the symptoms of depression? With mine, I am always so mad at my husband for really no reason. He's a good man, good husband, and good father, and he helps out with the kids and the house. I just fly off the handle about tiny little things. Like him not pushing in the computer chair for goodness sake! It even sounds ridiculous. Have any of you experienced this? And will the Lexapro help this?

Any advice will be wonderful. Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb