It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• Lexapro...pro's and con's anyone???

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-16-2005, 11:50 AM   #1
    katie865
    (female)

katie865 HB User
    Question Lexapro...pro's and con's anyone???

Hello, My name is Katie and I am a 20 year old sophmore college student. After I graduated from high school, I developed serious depression, which later turned into depression AND anxiety. I first started with zoloft, which I feel only worked for a short time, and didnt make a big difference in my life, so I stopped taking it. I went a few months without taking anything, then I started on paxil cr a few months later as well as elivil 10 mg each night, well now, here I am today, 30 pounds heavier and still very depressed and anxious. I dont feel as if the paxil made a difference at all. The weight gain has really gotten me even more depressed and I feel very uncomfortable in my current weight.

I actually swichted doctors, my new doctor recently switched me to lexapro, in hopes that it will help me better than paxil. She seems to really know what she is talking about when it comes to this medication. She said paxil and elivil both have been known to cause more weight gain

Can anyone give me any info on lexapro and what experiences you or someone else might have had. I also take topamax for migrane prevention, because my doctor told me that can help with weight loss. Also, If there are any other "worked wonders" stories any of you have with different medicines I would love to hear them.

Thanks so much and I hope to hear back from some of you,
    Katie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-16-2005, 12:51 PM   #2
    redcross19
    (male)

redcross19 HB User
    Re: Lexapro...pro's and con's anyone???