It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• what to do? loving a depressed man

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-15-2006, 09:45 PM   #1
    what2do?
    (female)

what2do? HB User
    what to do? loving a depressed man

Hi I am new to message boards as well but I am like anybody else and hoping to find some insight. I have been dating this man for the last 5 or 6 months and we really hit it off well and he is such a great man. He told me pretty early on that he has depression and that he has had it since his teenage years, but has yet to bring himself to seek appropriate help. He tried a counselor, thought that didn't help much so stopped going and today decided that he really needs to do something. In that decision he also decided that it should be best for us to not be involved romantically while he tries to get himself straight. I agree to this and think that he really has so many issues he has to straighten out on top of being depressed (for example, divorce a little over a year ago, financial issues, self esteem issues to name a few ) and I believe that this is probably the first thing that he has said that has made sense to me in a few weeks. The problem I am having is where do we go from here? He asked me to still be his friend and to be supportive but got upset with me when I told him my boundaries as being a friend vs being a girlfriend. For example he asked me to go to his parents still for thanksgiving and I said no that I didn't think that was appropriate. He also thought that I was out of line when I said I should have my things back from his place and that we should give eachother back the keys to eachothers places. To me these are things a boyfriend and girlfriend do not friends and what he is asking me to be is his friend yet he is expecting me to act like his girlfriend at times he feels appropriate. To me this is an unreasonable request that he ask of