It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• Help! Lexapro side effect

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-14-2007, 03:11 PM   #1
    MinnesotaNole
    (male)

MinnesotaNole HB User
    Question Help! Lexapro side effect

I just started on 20 mg of Lexapro 1X per day and let me tell you the results have been incredible. Generalized anxiety is way down (no more intense tension in the neck, lump in the the throat, heart racing, etc.) and I actually notice my surroundings now and I'm happy about the world around me. I think I was depressed and didn't even realize it. Is it possible to not be aware of your clinical depression?

There is one problem, however. The Lexapro works too well. I'm a college student who graduates this upcoming May and I've lost all motivation to study and get things done. I'm all about procrastination now; I almost feel as if I'm "too happy" to worry about important goals, deadlines, etc (if that makes sense).

Has anyone experienced a loss of motivation from being on SSRI's and what did you do to comabt this side effect?

I've heard that when you boost serotonin in the brain there is a corresponding dampening of dopamine. It's kind of like serotonin going up on the balance scale and dopamine going down. Could this be responsible for the loss of motivation side effects?

Last edited by MinnesotaNole; 02-14-2007 at 03:11 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-16-2007, 04:07 PM   #2
    kessa
    (female)

kessa HB User
    Re: Help! Lexapro side effect

MinnesotaNole- I can relate to your story. I was diagnosed 5 years ago with depression. Same symtoms you discribed. I went to doctors for 3 months before I tried Celexa. Wow what a difference it made. I didn't know I was depressed either. Once the Celexa took effect, I realized I had been in a state of depression most of my life.