It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• Reasons for being depressed

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-01-2007, 06:39 AM   #1
    mycatwillow
    (female)

mycatwillow HB User
    Reasons for being depressed

Hi everyone,

I've been reading a lot about everyone's family historys here and thinking about my own. Therapists used to ask my what my childhood was like and I used to say it was normal, because when people ask about childhood I always assumed they wanted to know if I was abused, and I wasn't.

But later on I realized that my childhood wasn't perfect. My parents fought a lot and my dad even moved out for a short period of time when I was 7 or 8 years old. Plus they had money problems. I was the good kid. I was an honours student and did everything right (or so they thought). My brothers were always getting in trouble and my father would hit them with a belt. If I got in trouble (which I hardly ever did) I got sent to my room. By the way, my Dad's not a bad person, back then people still spanked their kids and he would never do anything like that now. And they worked through their issues a long time ago and are happy together.

I think that's where my people pleasing reflex kicked in. Everyone was fighting so I was the good girl trying to make everyone happy. I realized that if I was genetically vulnerable to depression, this sort of environment probably contributed to making me depressed. Then when I got older and got a social life I was so consumed with making sure my friends liked me my school marks suffered and I felt like a failure. I was definitely a perfectionist and had to do everything right or I felt like a failure.