It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board

• My wife has no libido

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-06-2009, 07:50 AM   #1
    loveher
    (male)

loveher HB User
    My wife has no libido

Hi, sorry I am new to this but I am looking for people out there who can give me some real life experience!
    My wife of 25 years is on Citalopram having been diagnosed as depressed 2 years ago. Our relationship was still concrete up until 6 months ago when she completely lost her appetite for sex. Everthing came to a head last month as I have felt more and more rejected and insecure because my wife tells me that she loves me, cares for me but does not have any desire for sex. She thinks the Citalopram is compounding the lack of Libido and tells me to be patient as her doctor has told her that she is getting better and can try going without the drug from April. However, she will not talk to the doctor about our problem.

Recently, I have become moody and incredibly insecure to which point my wife told me last week that she was leaving because of my moods. Is there anyone else out there that either feels like my wife and can reassure me that this is a normal reaction and that she does still love me or a partner out there that is going through the same insecurity who can give me some advice?
    I love her to pieces and she tells me she loves me too. I have supported her through her depression but constant sexual rejection is making me feel so insecure.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-06-2009, 04:51 PM   #2
    fossilapostle
    Veteran
    (male)

fossilapostle HB User
    Re: My wife has no libido

It is not her fault if the medicine is decreasing her libido, yet there are solutions to this problem.