It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board

• Type 2 High Morning levels

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 07-26-2019, 01:50 PM   #1
    Taxiracer88
    (female)

Taxiracer88 HB User
    High Morning levels

I have been doing so good...Up until 3 days ago I was staying at 107 or less one morning was only 94. No changes in how I eat. The really low days I ate very little for lunch and walked quite a bit. But the last 3 days I have had readings of 132, 114, and 120. I take Metformin 500mg once a day...before bedtime. Have no idea about my A1C..haven't seen the doctor in over 3 months. Anyway...I have looked at several KETO diet videos, and web sites, but all the measuring and all I just get lost. I'm not good with measurements, I cook by taste...very rarely use a recipe. the stuff the recipes ask for you to use...wow...WAY over my budget! If I had to buy that stuff I would not have enough money on my Food Stamps to cover even 2 weeks. Any ideas would be so greatly appreciated. If I do not eat, I get tired and then I look for just Something to eat. I am so lost.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-27-2019, 07:29 AM   #2
    JohnR41
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

JohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB User
    Re: High Morning levels

Hi, Taxiracer88,

The KETO diet is difficult to follow and probably should not be followed. It can achieve some short term goals like weight-loss but the weight loss isn't that great and is mostly water-weight, according to my research. Also, the KETO diet tends to be low in fiber and sometimes includes too many saturated fats. In my opinion, the human body was not designed to function on this type of high fat diet. Short term there may be some gains but long term there could likely be many losses.