It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board

• Eating healthy without an oven or stove

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-11-2015, 01:03 PM   #1
    RachelNP
    (female)

RachelNP HB User
    Eating healthy without an oven or stove

Hey everyone!

I've been trying to eat healthier lately, but my weird, tiny apartment doesn't have a stove or oven, and most healthy recipes require one. Does anyone have any ideas for healthy foods that I can fix in the microwave or crock pot. Also, I'm a student, so I don't have a ton of money to buy super fancy, organic ingredients. I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-11-2015, 01:12 PM   #2
    MSNik
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
    Re: Eating healthy without an oven or stove

Any kind of meat or chicken, along with fresh vegtables or potatoes can sit in a crock pot all day with a cup or two of chicken stock or water with a bullion cube in it and make you a healthy meal. You can buy really cheap crock pot recipe books or look things up online as well. Not all of the recipes include expensive ingrediants. I made a lasagne in a crock pot last weekend and it was delicious. The noodles are cheap! And, you add sauce (which i make from scratch, but you do need a pot to boil it on) and cheese, and let it go! There are chili recipes also, which use alot of types of beans, also cheap- and simmer all day with some ground meat. You can get that relatively cheap also. A big crock pot will make 4-6 servings which can be frozen or used for lunches..
    Do some hunting on the net and find yourself some good meals which you can separate into portions and have for the week- or freeze for later. Good luck!

Old 08-12-2015, 06:45 AM   #3
    Machaon
    Senior Veteran
    (male)