It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board

• Newbie: Is there a GERD diet of allowed foods?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-25-2003, 08:05 AM   #1
    Hawaiian GERD

Hawaiian GERD HB User
    Newbie: Is there a GERD diet of allowed foods?

[SIZE=1][FONT=Comic Sans MS]

Hi..I'm a newbie to the boards. I've just been diagnosed with GERD and haven't been a happy camper since. Does anyone have a "foods allowed" list for GERD? My doctor says to avoid fatty foods, chocolate, peppermint, tomato-based foods, etc. My voice has become quite "baritone-ish" and hoarse and the reflux keeps me from sleeping well and I feel like I have a constant cold because of the sore throat feeling. Any information, help, advice from those who has this disease is greatly appreciated. I'd like to start feeling better.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-26-2003, 07:26 AM   #2
    Harry
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Harry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB User
    Re: Newbie: Is there a GERD diet of allowed foods?

Your Doctor is right but you could add try a more natrual diet. One that the food is mostly alkaline producing. All meats, beans, milk eggs, pasta produce acid and mostly all drinks except water-- coffee, tea, sodas are all acidic.

As you know your stomach produces acid but alot of foods also produces acid and just adds to the problem when you belch.
    As a rule you should eat 80% alkaline forming foods and drink daily. 20 % acid-forming foods

Old 12-26-2003, 09:29 AM   #3
    Losec20mg
    Inactive
    (male)

Losec20mg HB User

here check out this chart

[url]http://www.godsdirectcontact.com/vegetarian/alkalineoracid.html[/url]

Old 12-26-2003, 10:07 AM   #4
    flyonthewall
    Senior Veteran

flyonthewall HB User

I was also told no orange juice.
    fly

Old 01-18-2004, 01:23 AM   #5
    Hawaiian GERD