It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board

• What Are The Best/worst Foods On Your Digestive Tract?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-20-2005, 08:59 AM   #1
    Perry2
    (male)

Perry2 HB User
    What Are The Best/worst Foods On Your Digestive Tract?

I am 45 years old and have been on Prevacid for a couple of years now. I have ulcer like symptoms that are somewhat relieved by ditching coffee and high fat foods. My stomach is usually pretty good so long as I eat right and don't have my last meal to late in the day and I get a lot of fibre. In the mornings though, my stomach often has kind of scorched feeling, or at best it is sensitive which gets better as the day goes on until supper when it it back to normal. Stress really seems to crank things up. I get a bit of bloating because of the amount of dairy I eat(I am a body builder so lots of whey protein every day). I get mild intestinal discomfort fairly often as well, not usually of the diahrrea variety, (although high fibre wants to clean you out sometimes) but again sensitivity. I want to tinker with my diet a bit to see if I can improve these things. I am afraid I may have acquired lactose intolerance but that is easy to check out I think.

Suprisingly enough stuff like hot peppers doesn't set me off. What things can you folks eat a lot of and what stuff not? Any fruits and veggies on your list?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-20-2005, 12:04 PM   #2
    Harry
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Harry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB User
    Re: What Are The Best/worst Foods On Your Digestive Tract?

Perry,

To get your bowels to act right you need to intake between 25 to 35 grams of fibre daily. It needs to be divided between soluble and insoluble fibre.