It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board

• Possible cause of upper abdominal pain?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-28-2005, 06:06 PM   #1
    coolbunny
    (female)

coolbunny HB User
    Question Possible cause of upper abdominal pain?

Hi everyone

I'd be very grateful if anyone can throw any light on what might be causing my upper abdominal pain, as my doctor is puzzled by it.

My background is that I've had Coeliac disease for 30 years. It's well-controlled with very strict gluten-free diet & recent biospy found no symptoms. I also have lactose intolerance and have not had any dairy products for 15 yrs. I am also teetotal & a non-smoker.

I do have a very aggressive form of auto-immune thyroid disease.
    The underactive thyroid is stable, but I have very high levels of peroxidase antibodies, (which give me many unpleasant symptoms, such as chronic diarrhoea for one).

Last year I had severe gastritis. A gastroscopy & biopsy was done. Negative test for helicobacter pylori. 2 small stomach lesions were found and I was treated with a PPI for 2 months which got rid of the acid-like burning pain.

I also had upper abdominal ultrasound scan done last year . Gallbladder, pancreas, spleen, liver, all OK.

In the last 8 mths I have developed multiple food intolerances, and can't even take the purest Vit supplements becoz they increase the upper abdominal pain to severe levels. The pain runs across from one side to the other, in the area known as the hypochondriam. It is a pulling, stretching, tugging feeling, so bad at times it makes me shake and sweat.

I have had this pain for 8 months. It is worse when I am standing, and goes away if I lie down. It is also worse when my stomach is full. And worse still if I eat something that disagrees with me.