It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Drug Interactions / Side Effects Message Board

• High blood pressure medicine and sterility

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 04-15-2018, 07:04 AM   #1
    Cosmo1221
    (male)

Cosmo1221 HB User
    High blood pressure medicine and sterility

Three weeks ago, I was prescribed medicine to treat my high blood pressure. Iím a 29-year-old male, so this is my first time taking pills to lower my blood pressure. I was given Lisinopril-Hydrochlorothiazide (Linsop/Hctz) at a dosages of 10-12.5 mg per tablet.

The medicine has successfully lowered my blood pressure reasonable, though not ideal, levels. However, there was a notable a side effect which happened shortly upon taking the pill: my erections werenít as hard. But I didnít notice is any significant changes to my libido.

Iím not currently sexually active, so the mild erection problems didnít bother me so much. But I still wondered why I had this issue, so I did some research on the Internet last Thursday. I discovered that the Hctz, a diuretic (water pill), is the reason why I canít get as hard. I read that diuretics can significantly reduce menís testosterone levels by depleting the body of zinc.

Like I said, Iím not concerned about the mild erection problems. But Iím deeply concerned about the possibility of being sterile (since I want to have a family in the future), especially if it is permanent. I immediately quit taking the medicine last Friday, then scheduled an appointment with my doctor for the following Monday to get a different high blood pressure pill which wouldnít cause infertility. I also plan to buy some zinc tablets at Walgreens later today and take them daily, hoping it will reverse the damage which Linsop/Hctz caused.

So here are my questions: