It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board

Diarrhea After Tonsillectomy?

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2016, 08:27 AM   #1
dk774
(female)

dk774 HB User
Post Diarrhea After Tonsillectomy?

Hello, I hate to be graphic but I have an embarrassing question.

Is diarrhea after a tonsillectomy normal?

I'm now 10 days post-op of a tonsillectomy, 3 days of which I have stopped using Percocet. However, even though I've been slightly constipated during the use of these painkillers, as of the last 2 days I've had diarrhea. It's mostly watery and it is foul smelling but I want to be sure this is normal. I know this is a sign of infection but I've looked at my throat and it looks absolutely fine, and I do not have a fever. Could it also be because I've weaned off Percocet and am trying to flush out whatever I was constipated with? I'm just shy of a month of turning 16 so I'm not necessarily going through an adult recovery.

I just want to know if this is normal or if I should have my mother call the doctor. This is very embarrassing for me and I hate having to use an air freshener every time I leave the bathroom.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-28-2016, 09:52 AM   #2
quincy
Senior Veteran
(female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
Re: Diarrhea After Tonsillectomy?

Hi...were you on antibiotics before or after your surgery?

What you should do is ask the doctor do give you a stool sample kit for testing to rule out that you havent got an invader or overgrowth of c.difficile, etc.

I don't think it would be from being off the percocet....you mention constipation...did you have it before the surgery?

Are you eating foods that might quicken the digestive tract or using artificial sweeteners?

q