It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board

• Bizarre front neck pain/muscle tear?

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 03-31-2017, 08:39 PM   #1
    threeteas
    (male)

threeteas HB User
    Unhappy Bizarre front neck pain/muscle tear?

Nearly two months ago, I was working on a bike (I am an amateur bike mechanic) and was trying to get a bolt loose. This required a tremendous amount of torque and clenching of my jaws--I felt a slight "pop" and a severe pain that ran down the front of a muscle/nerve in my throat.

This pain subsided later that day, and I didn't think much of it, but the more I exercise, compete on my bike, talk, or even swallow during the day the more a vague ache comes back near the front of the throat. Sometimes it feels like nerve pain. This happens if I'll move my head or jerk it a certain way. It is severely annoying, and I'm starting to get very worried, even though my dentist did a check of my neck, as well as a doctor and massage therapist. All seemed to agree that it was some kind of torn muscle. However, whenever I get the pain I feel quite panicky and am enjoying my life less and less because of it and the worry. My massage therapist said it was "tightly bound" down there from the strain.

I have to admit that my worries are compounded by my sister having Thyroid cancer 10 years ago, even though a doc did check my thyroid and tested levels, everything.

It seems like perhaps the next step would be going to an ENT and really getting this thing thoroughly checked. It seems muscular or nerve related, but also seems very, very odd. I also have to mention that I am an ex tobacco user, so there is also that. However, at night when I'm resting or when I'm very relaxed I don't even feel it.

I wonder if it is anxiety related--but very worried.

Very worried here!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-01-2017, 10:41 AM   #2
    quincy
    Senior Veteran