It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eating Disorder Recovery Message Board

• Tropamax and Bulimia

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-25-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
    jerseygirl8992
    (female)

jerseygirl8992 HB User
    Tropamax and Bulimia

Hi, I have been suffereing from bulimia for the last few years. I have been thinking about starting tropamax. However I am very worried about the "brain fog" because I am a full time student and have exams coming up in the next month. Anyone have experience with this medicine(weight loss, b/p cycle gone, caffine effect)? if so what dosage worked... would 25mg cause the brain fog if I started it a few weeks before the tests??
    Thankyou

Ps. I am okay with the other side effects due to the fact that I believe that I might be able to overcome this disease... however I am not sure I can risk ruining my education.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-26-2009, 05:34 PM   #2
    cocos421
    (female)

cocos421 HB User
    Re: Tropamax and Bulimia

It works different on everyone, but I would hold off until after the tests. There's always a list of side effects from starting new meds and you don't know exactly how it will effect you. Even at a low dose.
    I started at 25mg. I'm pretty sure I had the brain fog at that dose. I take 175mg. now and I'm used to it. The brain fog doesn't seem to be there so much. I take it for bipolar, works wonders. I just had it increased for my unstable moods and to help control my appetite, and it helps with that too.
    <removed>
    What did you want to know about the caffeine effect? I drink alot of caffeine and have an energy drink every day.
    Topamax should most likely control those binges however. <removed>

Last edited by mod-anon; 04-26-2009 at 08:33 PM. Reason: edited triggering passages

Old 04-26-2009, 06:33 PM   #3
    dragonfly57
    (female)

dragonfly57 HB User