It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board

• Topamax and Pregnancy

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-17-2005, 10:24 AM   #1
    melmo524
    (female)

melmo524 HB User
    Topamax and Pregnancy

Hello! I'm new to this message board thing so bear with me. Ok, to make a long story short, I was diagnosed with Juvenile Myeoclonic Epilepsy (petit mal seizures) about 8 years ago. I had some symptoms about 2-3 years prior to that. I've been on Depakote ever since I was diagnosed and have been well maintained on one drug. I'm 26 and have been married for 2 years and my husband and I are hoping to start a family in the next year. Due to this, my neurologist started me on Lamictal last year because it is supposed to be safer during pregnancy. Unfortunately, the drug didn't work for me. My body didn't respond to it well and I ended up having 2 sets of grand mal seizures. So, my neuro put me back on my Depakote. Now, nine months later, my neuro wants me to try Topamax. I'm a little nervous, but I'm willing to hear what he has to say regarding this med. Can anyone tell me if they have or have not had luck with this drug? Also, I really want to know if anyone has or hasn't had a successful pregnancy while taking Topamax? I'm not pregnant yet but I am trying to take every possible avenue to ensure that I have a better chance at having a safe pregnancy. Thank you. I look forward to hearing from any and everyone.

Last edited by melmo524; 08-17-2005 at 10:25 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-17-2005, 04:22 PM   #2
    ibeeshell
    Veteran
    (female)

ibeeshell HB User
    Re: Topamax and Pregnancy