It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board

• Any Zonegran users?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-06-2005, 12:49 PM   #1
    tweetygirl
    (female)

tweetygirl HB User
    Any Zonegran users?

I'm new to the healthboards, but have been having grand mal seizures since I was 14 (I'm 26 now). I've been on numerous meds but nothing seemed to truly work. Dilantin stopped my seizures but made me so sedated and depressed I couldn't function. Lamictal worked for moods and seizures, but only for less than a year. Kepra once again brought me no seizures but the depression and sedation became unbearable. I'm now starting Zonegran but am getting to feel a bit frustrated, if not hopeless. Any ideas, words of wisdom, or anything that has worked for anyone out there. Thanks Guys.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-07-2005, 06:32 PM   #2
    bettyst
    Veteran
    (female)

bettyst HB User
    Re: Any Zonegran users?

My son started taking Zonegran about 4 weeks ago. Started at 50 mg each week until he reached 200mg. He takes it as 100 mg at 8am and 100 mg 8pm. He also takes 400mg Tegretol xr at 8am,2pm and 8pm.
    He is doing fine on it so far. Our problem was with the Topamax so he is going on it at the same time as going on the Zonegran.

Hope this helps

Old 12-08-2005, 06:25 AM   #3
    kayakmom
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

kayakmom HB User

I have had 2 teens take Zonegran, my son for the second time, and each had a different reaction. My son has done fairly well with taking it. His side effects are fairly small unless he goes really high in dosing. When that occurs he cannot think straight, seizures increase and he is agitated and frustrated. When he is at a good dose for him he is ok! Apetite is a bit low, but not too much.