It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board

• Smoking - can i prevent weight gain completely?

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 07-10-2017, 05:08 AM   #1
    Mimzyo
    (female)

Mimzyo HB User
    Smoking - can i prevent weight gain completely?

Hi, i'm a 20 year old female and i have been smoking since i was 14 years old. I smoke about 10 - 20 hand rolled cigarettes per day. 3 weeks from now i will be quitting smoking.
    I have struggled with eating disorders throughout my life, with periods of binge eating then periods of starving myself. I completely messed up my metabolism and previously weighed almost 200 pounds.
    Over the past couple of years i have been living a very healthy lifestyle and have dropped my weight down to 110 pounds, i still want to lose another 5 pounds, i'm only 5ft. I eat a clean, vegan, wholefoods diet, i never drink alcohol, i run for 40 minutes 4 times a week, brisk walk every other day, lift light weights and i do pilates. The only problem with my health is that i smoke, well i'm determined to quit!
    I'm just really concerned about weight gain, many people say it is inevitable. I am worried the weight gain will trigger my eating disorder behavior again.
    When i quit smoking, i will be continuing to eat healthy, exactly the way i'm eating now, being vegan means most junk foods that i can get where i live are off limits anyway, i will be doing more exercise, running faster and longer and lifting heavier weights. They say smoking burns an extra 200 calories a day so i will be burning another 200 a day on top of the 300 - 600 calories i'm already burning everyday through exercise.