It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board

Advice for first 5k race needed..and blisters

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2005, 12:58 PM   #1
Ding
Veteran
(female)

Ding HB User
Advice for first 5k race needed..and blisters

hello, i've put myself in for my first running race, its 5K and its in 10 days. i've been training for it for about 2 months by running gradually increasing distances about 2/3 times a week. (i started off with 1K, then increased it every week. most recently i've been running about 4K at a time).

i wondered if theres anyone here with experience on preparing for races. e.g. how near to the race should I continue training up until? i was thinking that i'll continue running up until maybe the friday (the race is on the sunday), so i'll be rested for the race.

also, i have a problem with blisters on my feet. i keep seeming to find that i could quite happily go on running physically, but i end up having to stop because of the pain in my feet. anyone have any tips on how to avoid them?

thanks

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-16-2005, 01:04 PM   #2
star_shine_2010
Veteran
(female)

star_shine_2010 HB User
Re: Advice for first 5k race needed..and blisters