It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board

Looking for support, advice...

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2001, 12:22 AM   #1
J_C

J_C HB User
Question Looking for support, advice...

Hi everyone... I'm new to this board. I'm looking for some support... is this the right place to go?
Anyway, I'm 19, 5'2'', 130 lbs. I've wanted to lose weight ever since I was a freshman in high school, but somehow I've never had the commitment to stick to a diet and exercise program. To be toned and in shape is the one thing I want more than anything else in the world. I feel like my life can't begin until I achieve this. I'm often depressed and withdrawn because I hate the way I am, and I hate how I've basically been a failure at achieving something I want so badly. It seems like everywhere I look, whether it's around campus or on TV, everyone is thin and in shape, and I cringe inwardly whenever I see these people.
Recently, I signed up for a personal trainer at the gym. I vowed to turn my life around. I vowed to work out everyday and watch what I ate. You know... the usual stuff that's so much easier to say than do. Well, after I had a few sessions with my trainer, I went to the gym one morning on my own. It was one of the most humiliating and torturous experiences for me. I felt so self-conscious and awkward and out of place with all these buff people around me. After I got back to my room, I felt more horrible about that experience than good about working out. See, now dragging myself to the gym is a torture for me... it's so emotionally and mentally draining that I don't know if I'll be able to stick with the program. Anyway, right now I'm just feeling really low, like I'm doomed to be like this for the rest of my life.