It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board

• Gunky left eye after removing contact lens.

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 03-02-2019, 06:11 PM   #1
    Stargazer776
    (female)

Stargazer776 HB User
    Gunky left eye after removing contact lens.

I have been using contact lenses for about twenty years and in the last few years, I have been atlernating between glasses and contact lenses. I use disposable soft lenses that last 2 weeks. I take them out after wearing them and soak them in solution overnight.

I have been on holidays for the last couple of months and I have been wearing my glasses most of the time. I have only worn my contact lenses a few times and each time, my left eye has become red and gunky after removing the lens. I did wear my contacts for nine or ten hours but I have done that in the past and hardly had a problem.

I made sure I did everything right, washed my hands before putting the lens in, soaked them overnight in a clean lens case etc but it made no difference. I even opened new lenses and my left eye still got gunky. I never leave my lenses in when I go to bed. My left eye becomes red and gunky like I've got conjunctivitis but I know it isn't that, I've had it before and always in both eyes. The gunk is a light yellow colour and thick. It feels like grit in my eye and after wearing them last night, my eye was itchy, then sore like something was under my eyelid. I did find that eyedrops like visine did help and antihistamines. Surely this isn't hayfever or an allergy as it keeps happening and only after wearing lenses. Does anyone have any ideas?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-02-2019, 06:30 PM   #2
    yayagirl
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

yayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB User