It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Family & Friends of Addicts and Alcoholics Message Board

• my husband can't quit smoking weed

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-20-2006, 06:12 PM   #1
    jentracy
    (female)

jentracy HB User
    my husband can't quit smoking weed

This is my first time posting...I have been reading other's stories that sound so familiar and I just needed to write. I have been married for 3 years...we got married young, he 21 and myself 19. Then, we were both still in our "troubled partying" days, we both did our fair share of drugs. ...To make a long story short, I became pregnant...quit doing drugs...and never started again after I had my son. My husband, on the other hand, while he quit doing other drugs...never quit smoking weed. He has been in trouble numerous times...after 100 hours of community service, several $1000s, and some classes he was forced to take by the judge...he was able to quit smoking for the 2 years he was on probation. The DAY he got off probation (2 years ago) he wanted to smoke, "just this once" since he "was free". And of course, like any addict, "just this once" soon progressed on. Now...2 years later, he is still smoking...everday...several times a day. He tells me he will stop "on our son's 3rd birthday"...that passes...he will stop "after the new year"...that passes. It is never ending. He says he just can't stop. It frustrates me that smoking weed is SO important to him. ALL of his friends smoke, and I don't think he will ever be able to quit while the temptation is always there. I am so torn...because of the fact that he smoked when we met 9 years ago, am I wrongly trying to change him? Or am I justified for wanting to leave that lifestyle behind us now that we have a child, and responsibilities? Thanks for reading...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-20-2006, 08:39 PM   #2
    VeryTired
    Inactive
    (male)

VeryTired HB User